



Minutes of the 7^{th} meeting of the University Research Committee (URC) held on 20^{th} Feb., 2014.

Date: 20th Feb., 2014

Time: 3.00 PM

Venue: Manipal University Jaipur

Members Present:

1. Dr. Sandeep Sancheti, President Chairman

2. Dr. Kumkum Garg, Dean FOE

- 3. Dr. B.K. Sharma, Dean FOS, R&I
- 4. Dr. N. K. Garg, Dean, SA&D
- 5. Cdr.(Dr.) D.C. Agarwal, Director SET
- 6. Dr. A. K. Chaudhary, Director TSB
- 7. Dr. Vandana Suhag, Registrar
- 8. Prof. V.S. Kulhar, Head SBS & H
- 9. Dr. Dasari Nagaraju, C.O.E.
- 10. Dr. Pooja Sharma, Co-ordinator, Ph.D. Programme
- 11. Dr. Richa Arora, H.o.D. English
 12. Dr. V. N. Tiwari, H.o.D. ECE
 13. Dr. Roheet Bhatnagar, H.o.D. CSE
 Invitee
- 14. Dr. Neetu Bhatnagar Invitee
- 15. Dr. Madan Mohan Sharma Invitee
- 16. Dr. Abhijeet Singh Invitee

7URC (A) URC confirmed the minutes of 6th URC meeting held on 25th Sept., 2013 as no comments were received on the same.

7URC (B) The following items were reported by Co-ordinator Ph.D. Progamme:-

- 1. Details of Ph.D. Entrance exam held on 16th Dec., 2013.
- 2. Status of new registered research scholars.
- 3. Student Doctoral Committees constituted in first DRC meetings in Jan. 2014, for newly registered research scholars.
- 4. One Ph.D. thesis submitted by Ms. Richa Mishra in Department of Management.
- **7URC** (C) The following decisions were taken on applications received for URC Consideration:-





1. The following were approved as external supervisors for the MUJ research scholars:-

Sr. No.	Name of the Research Scholar	Department	Internal Supervisor	Approved External Supervisor
1.	Mr. Sanjan Choudhary	Chemistry	Dr. Nitu Bhatnagar	Prof. Man Singh (Dean, School of Chemical Sciences, Central University Gujarat)
2.	Ms. Juhi Saxena	Biosciences	Dr. Abhijeet Singh	Dr. Sarika Gupta (H.o.D., Dr. B. Lal Institute of Biotechnology, Jaipur)
3.	Mr. Dinesh Yadav	Electronics & Comm. Engg.	Prof. V. N. Tiwari	Prof. Deepak Bhatnagar (Deptt. of Physics U.O. R.)

2. It was decided to cancel the following registrations in Ph.D. Programme:-

Sr. No.	Name of the Research Scholar	Department	Date of Registration	Candidature	Supervisor/ Co- Supervisor
1.	Mr. Avadh Oza	Biosciences	29-07-2013	Part-Time (Internal)	Dr. Madan Mohan Sharma / Dr. Lalita Ledwani
2.	Ms. Rama Sateesh parthsarthy	English	28-02-2012	Part-Time (External)	Dr. Richa Arora
3.	Ms. Fiona Shalini Lobo	English	28-02-2012	Part-time (External)	Dr. Richa Arora
4.	Ms. Rachana Tahilramani	Management	28-02-2012	Part-time (External)	Brig. (Dr.) P.S. Siwach/ Dr. C. Annirvinna
5.	Mr. Raju Kumar	CSE	11-10-2012	Part-time (External)	Dr. Roheet Bhatnagar

3. Request of Mr. Yash Mishra for change from part-time to full-time candidature was approved. His part-time candidature of last 6th months would be counted equivalent to 4 months as a full-time candidate. Therefore, he has to work for a minimum of 20 months more to submit his thesis from the date of decision taken.





4. Teaching assistantships for the following full time research scholars was approved on the basis of requirement in the respective department.:-

Sr. No.	Name of the Research Scholar	Department	Duration
1	Mr. Jeril Kurikose	CSE	Jan-2014 to May-2014
2	Ms. Ruchi Saboo	Mathematics	Jan-2014 to May-2014
3	Ms. Suman Swami	Chemistry	Jan-2014 to May-2014
4	Mr. Yash Mishra	Biosciences	Feb2014 to May-2014
5	Mrs. Jyotika Sharma	Psychology	Jan-2014 to May-2014

- 5. The request of Ms. Gursharan Kaur Arora, part-time research scholar, Deptt. of English to exempt her from residential requirement was not accepted since residential requirement was compulsory under UGC regulation. She is however, granted permission to complete her residential requirement in parts before the submission of her synopsis. It was also decided that due to M. Phil qualification she is exempted from the research methodology course work.
- 6. Mr. Sanjan Choudhary, research scholar, Deptt. of chemistry was granted extension for late joining but his candidature will continue as a part-time external research scholar.
- 7. It was decided that the names of internal supervisors in place of Dr. Anurag Bhatnagar for Ms. Harkanchan and Mr. Ajay Chaturvedi, research scholars Deptt. of Management will be decided after receiving names from Dr. Sonia Munjal.
- **7URC (D)** It was decided that the Ph.D. course work must be completed within one year of provisional registration with a minimum CGPA of 6.0 from now onwards.
- **7URC** (E) It was decided that the consolidated grade-sheet will be given to all research scholars on completion of the Ph.D. course work. Seminar paper shall be given a common code.

7URC (F) The following schedule was approved for conducting the next Ph.D. entrance exam:-

Date of entrance exam	2 nd June, 2014 (Monday)
Result Announcement	3 rd June, 2014
Interviews and DRC Meetings	5 th June, 2014 - 20 th June 2014





Under any other item:-

- (1) It was decided the all the applications for fresh award / extension of teaching assistantship will be presented in URC by the Co-ordinator Ph.D. programme. No automatic extension will be permissible.
- (2) It was decided that the H.o.D.s, will assign the work load to teaching assistants for the subjects assigned to the respective departments only after distributing the requisite work load to their faculty members.
- (3) It was decided that teaching assistantship will not be assigned to any full-time research scholar after completion of two year of his/her full-time candidature.
- (4) It was decided that the Col. Sadasivan will continue to be the SDC member for Mr. Shashi Bhushan part- time internal research scholar, Deptt. of Mechanical Engg.

The meeting concluded with a vote of thanks to the chair.

Dr. Pooja Sharma Co-ordinator, Ph.D. Programme, Manipal University Jaipur, Jaipur.

Copy to:

- 1. All URC Members
- 2. Research Supervisors, for information to their Research scholars